FMF_Logo_RGB_neg.png
FMV_schriftzug_RGB_neg.png
  • Fanny Förderpreis Instagram
  • fanny Förderpreis Facebook
  • Fanny Förderpreis Youtube

© 2019 Fanny Mendelssohn Förderpreis

THE IDEA
 
Fanny Mendelssohn (1805 – 1847) is considered to be one of the most important female musicians of her time.

Her gift as a composer and pianist was limited to Sunday matinees at her parents' home. Her family had strictly forbidden her from making a profession of her artistic talent. Her father Abraham wrote to her: "Music will perhaps become his [her brother Felix] profession, while for you it will remain but an ornament; never can and should it become the foundation of your existence and daily life.”

During the last year of her life, Fanny finally gathered up her courage and had the first works of her more than 450 compositions printed. In her honor, the Fanny Mendelssohn Förderpreis was founded in 2015. It is aimed at young musicians to enable them to do what Fanny couldn't, i.e., to be able to present their visions and musical concepts to a larger audience.

THE AWARD

 Debut album 

 

The winner will have the opportunity to release an own debut album without the pressure of any commercial considerations.

 Prize money 

The prize money of €10,000 will be used exclusively for the production of a debut CD of chamber music. It will be released by the Hamburg classical musical label ES-DUR. The prize money will cover the cost for the recording and release. No additional costs, e.g., musicians, orchestra fees, etc., will be covered.

 Concerts 

 

The prize also includes a series of concert performances. These include a concert during the award ceremony at the Festspiele Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, an appearance in the Felix Mendelssohn music room in the Mendelssohn-Haus at Leipzig, a concert in the Frauenkirche in Dresden and at Schloss Elmau.

Have you been nominated by your mentor?

We congratulate you on your nomination!
Download and fill out the application form.

Please do not forget:

  • completed application form

  • CV with photograph

  • Audio recording (mp3 or video recording mp4 or DVD)

Submit your application either by email or post to:

 

schwarzweller@interlink-kultur.com 

 

Heide Schwarzweller
Heilwigstraße 93
20249 Hamburg

You can find the terms and conditions of participation here.

1/3
OUR MENTORS
 
 
Prof. Dr. Dieter Rexroth (Vorsitz)

Prof. Dr. Dieter Rexroth, a dramaturgy professor, is considered one of the most creative personalities in the German music scene. From 1996 until 2006, he was the director and dramaturge of the Rundfunkorchester und Chöre GmbH and of the Deutsches Symphonie Orchester. Since its foundation in 2000, Rexroth has worked as artistic director of the Young Euro Classic and was, as such, one of the founding fathers of this successful festival, which has been held every year since 1999.
In addition, he is the artistic director of the "Kasseler Musiktage" (since 2006) as well as the annual "Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy Hochschulwettbewerb."

OUR JURY
Martin Hoffmeister

Martin Hoffmeister is a culture and music editor at MDR radio. After his studies (modern German literature, philosophy, musicology, rhetoric) he worked at various radio and TV stations as an editor and moderator in news and culture section. As a freelance journalist, he writes for numerous national and international print media and trade journals and is responsible for several book projects. He is a member of various classical juries such as "International Classical Music Awards", "Fanny Mendelssohn Förderpreis",  "International A Cappella Competition" Leipzig,  "Grammy Awards" and "Children and Youth Composition Prize" Leipzig.

Sarah Kesting

Sarah Kesting studied music theatre sciences and business management in Bayreuth and Ferrara (Italy). During her studies she worked for singing agencies and the Bayreuth Festival. Her professional positions included the Nikolaisaal Potsdam / Musikfestspiele Potsdam Sanssouci, the management of the program of the Mecklenburg-Vorpommern Festival and the Munich concert management Hörtnagel. Since 2018 she has been planning the cultural program at Schloss Elmau as Artistic Director.

Christina Khosrowi

Christina Khosrowi studied singing/ music theater at the Hanns Eisler Academy of Music in Berlin. As opera singer, she brought many different roles to the stage. In 2017, she joined the management of Daniel Hope, where, among other things, she is responsible for the concert planning for the Frauenkirche in Dresden as well as for numerous chamber music projects in the coming years.

Alexander Krichel

In 1995, at the age of 6, Alexander Krichel began to play the piano. He studied at the Royal College of Music in London under Prof. Dmitri Alexeev and has won numerous national and international competitions. In 2013, he won the ECHO Classical Music Award as young artist of the year.

 
INFORMATION ABOUT PARTICIPATION
The Fanny Mendelssohn Sponsorship Award is a concept award honoring:

  • an innovative musical concept
  • a new interpretive approach
  • an extraordinary repertoire developed on the basis of the program concept

  • The age limit for instrumentalists and chamber music ensembles is 25
  • for vocalists the age limit is 29

  • Conditions of participation: contestants are not allowed to have already released an own album.

The musical concept can include both modern works as well as long-forgotten repertoire.

IMPORTANT INFORMATIONS

 One award, three categories: 

  • Solo Instrument

  • Chamber Music

  • Ensemble Voice

 Documents to be submitted: 

  • completed application form

  • CV with photograph

  • Audio recording (mp3 or video recording mp4 or DVD)

Please submit documents per email or post to:

 

schwarzweller@interlink-kultur.com 

 

Heide Schwarzweller
Heilwigstraße 93
20249 Hamburg

 

 
THE INITATOR
HEIDE SCHWARZWELLER

Heide Schwarzweller talking about 5 years of the FMFP:

"When I first created the Fanny Mendelssohn Förderpreis in 2014, I could have never imagined that it would gain such a strong foothold so quickly. Up to now, the overwhelmingly positive echo resounding from the most diverse areas of culture has been simply spectacular.

From the very start, the independent positioning of the FMFP has certainly played a decisive role in its success. This venue has enabled emerging artists to showcase their musical prowess in a unique way.

As here, not only the technical virtuosity is rewarded, but above all the overarching concept developed by the participants, that is to say their self-defined conceptual framework. This automatically leads to an artistic-intellectual interaction with the music and thus to completely new and revolutionary performances.

I am particularly happy that our original motto "From Guide to Companion" has already borne fruit on several occasions.

For our first award winner, Tamás Pálfalvi, the Fanny Mendelssohn Förderpreis
was the starting signal for a world career that has already taken him to all the major concert halls, e.g., to Carnegie Hall. Just recently he became the youngest professor in Hungary at the Liszt Ferenc Academy of Music in Budapest. At the same time, his continuing loyalty to the FMFP expresses the special character of this award: solidarity.

I am eternally grateful that this award has enabled me to lay a foundation which will make it possible for future participants and winners to pursue their own personal and individual musical career paths.

Life as an artist has never been easy. Rich in hardships and modest in financial resources. Cultural promotion is increasingly giving way to economic considerations. 80 % of college graduates are unable to find an orchestra position and have to switch to other types of related positions, e.g., teaching jobs...

It is therefore all the more important to offer aspiring artists a stage on which they can present their special talents to a top-class jury and the general public.

The FMFP stands against cultural climate change and for the pursuit of
new artistic-creative innovations."

DIE IDEE
 
Fanny Mendelssohn (1805 – 1847) gilt als eine der bedeutendsten Musikerinnen ihrer Zeit.

Ihre Begabung als Komponistin und Pianistin war jedoch nur bei sonntäglichen Matineen ihres Elternhauses zu erleben. Ihr künstlerisches Schaffen zur Profession zu machen war ihr von der Familie streng untersagt. So schrieb ihr der Vater Abraham: „Die Musik wird für ihn [den Bruder Felix] vielleicht Beruf, während sie für Dich stets nur Zierde, niemals Grundbaß deines Seins und Thuns werden kann und soll.“

In ihrem letzten Lebensjahr fasste Fanny schließlich den Mut, erste Werke ihrer
über 450 Kompositionen zur Drucklegung zu bringen. Ihr zu Ehren wurde im Jahr
2015 erstmals der Fanny Mendelssohn Förderpreis verliehen. Er richtet sich an
junge Musiker und Musikerinnen, um ihnen zu ermöglichen, was Fanny nicht vergönnt war: ihren Visionen und Musikkonzepten eine breite Öffentlichkeit zu geben.

DER PREIS

 Debüt-Album 

 

Der Preisträger oder die Preisträgerin erhält die Möglichkeit, das Debüt-Album ohne den Druck kommerzieller Erwägungen zu veröffentlichen.

 Preisgeld 

Das Preisgeld von 10.000 EUR wird zweckgebunden eingesetzt – für die Produktion einer Kammermusik-Debüt-CD. Diese wird beim Hamburger Classic Label ES-DUR veröffentlicht. Die Kosten für Aufnahme und Veröffentlichung sind durch das Preisgeld gedeckt. Zusätzliche Kosten, wie z.B. Musiker-/Musikerinnen- oder Orchesterhonorare etc. werden nicht vom Wettbewerb übernommen.

 Konzerte 

 

Der Gewinn beinhaltet auch eine Reihe von Konzertauftritten. Ein Preisverleihungskonzert im Rahmen der Festspiele Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, einen Auftritt im Musikzimmer Felix Mendelssohns im Felix Mendelssohnhaus zu Leipzig, einen Auftritt in der Frauenkirche Dresden, sowie ein Konzert auf Schloss Elmau.

Ihr Pate/Ihre Patin hat Sie vorgeschlagen?
 

Wir gratulieren zur Nominierung!
Laden Sie sich hier den Bewerbungsbogen herunter und füllen Sie ihn
am besten sofort aus.

Nicht vergessen:

  • Ausgefüllter Bewerbungsbogen

  • Lebenslauf mit Foto

  • Hörprobe (mp3, ggf. Videoaufnahme mp4, oder DVD)

per Mail oder Post an:

 

schwarzweller@interlink-kultur.com 

 

Heide Schwarzweller
Heilwigstraße 93
20249 Hamburg

Einsendeschluss für die Bewerbung ist der 30. September 2020.

Die Teilnahmebedingungen finden Sie hier.

1/3
UNSERE PATEN/PATINNEN
 
 
Prof. Dr. Dieter Rexroth (Vorsitz)

Der Dramaturg Prof. Dr. Dieter Rexroth gilt als einer der kreativsten Köpfe der deutschen Musikszene. Er war von 1996 bis 2006 Intendant und Dramaturg der Rundfunkorchester und Chöre GmbH und des Deutschen Symphonie Orchesters. Seit der Gründung im Jahr 2000 ist Rexroth Künstlerischer Leiter von Young Euro Classic und als solcher einer der Väter des erfolgreichen Festivals, das seit 1999 jährlich stattfindet.
Er ist darüber hinaus Künstlerischer Leiter der „Kasseler Musiktage“ (seit 2006) und des jährlich stattfindenden „Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy Hochschulwettbewerbs“.

UNSERE JURY
Martin Hoffmeister

Martin Hoffmeister ist Kultur- und Musik-Redakteur beim MDR-Hörfunk. Nach dem Studium (Neuere Deutsche Literatur, Philosophie, Musikwissenschaft, Rhetorik)
arbeitete er bei diversen Radio- und TV-Stationen als Redakteur und Moderator im Nachrichten- und Kultur-Segment. Als freier Publizist schreibt er für zahllose nationale
und internationale Print-Organe und Fachzeitschriften und zeichnet für mehrere Buchprojekte verantwortlich. Er ist Mitglied verschiedener Klassik-Jurys wie den
‚International Classical Music Awards‘, dem ‚Fanny-Mendelssohn-Förderpreis‘, dem ‚Internationalen A Cappella Wettbewerb‘ Leipzig, den ‚Grammy Awards‘ und dem
‚Kinder- und Jugend Kompositionspreis‘ Leipzig.

Sarah Kesting

Sarah Kesting studierte Musiktheaterwissenschaften und BWL in Bayreuth und Ferrara (Italien). Während des Studiums arbeitete sie bei Gesangsagenturen und den Bayreuther Festspielen. Ihre beruflichen Stationen waren danach u.a. der Nikolaisaal Potsdam/Musikfestspiele Potsdam Sanssouci, die Leitung der Programmplanung der Festspiele Mecklenburg-Vorpommern sowie die Münchner Konzertdirektion Hörtnagel. Seit 2018 plant sie als Artistic Director das Kulturprogramm von Schloss Elmau.

Christina Khosrowi

Christina Khosrowi studierte Gesang/Musiktheater an der Hochschule für Musik „Hanns Eisler“ Berlin. Sie stand als Opernsängerin für verschiedenste Rollen auf der Bühne. 2017 wechselte sie in das Management von Daniel Hope, dort ist sie unter anderem für die Konzertplanung der Frauenkirche Dresden sowie für zahlreiche kammermusikalische Projekte in den kommenden Jahren verantwortlich.

Alexander Krichel

Alexander Krichel begann 1995, im Alter von 6 Jahren, mit dem Klavierspiel. Er studierte am Royal College Music, London, bei Prof. Dmitri Alexeev und ist Preisträger zahlreicher nationaler und internationaler Wettbewerbe. 2013 gewann er den ECHO KLASSIK als Nachwuchskünstler des Jahres.

TEILNAHMEINFOS
WICHTIGES
 
Folgende Teilnahmebedingungen
gelten für den Fanny Mendelssohn Förderpreis:

  • eine Nominierung durch eine(n) der bestehenden Paten/innen oder - nach Rücksprache mit dem Fanny Mendelssohn Förderverein - durch eine(n) international renommierte(n) Musiker/in, Hochschulprofessor/in oder Kulturmanager/in, der/die sich für den Bewerber ausspricht und sie/ihn beim Bewerbungsprozess als Mentor(in) begleitet.
    Nominierungsvorschläge können noch bis zum 31. Mai 2020 per E-Mail bei FMFP-Initiatorin Heide Schwarzweller abgegeben werden: schwarzweller@interlink-kultur.com 

  • ein innovatives musikalisches Konzept des Bewerbers
  • ein neuer interpretatorischer Ansatz
  • ein außergewöhnliches, aus dem Konzept heraus entwickeltes Repertoire

  • Die Altersgrenze liegt für Instrumentalisten/Instrumentalistinnen und Kammermusikensembles bei 25 Jahren, für Vokalisten/Vokalistinnen bei 29 Jahren

  • Voraussetzung: die Bewerber/die Bewerberinnen haben noch kein eigenes Album veröffentlicht

Das musikalische Konzept kann sowohl moderne Werke beinhalten als auch ein längst in Vergessenheit geratenes Repertoire.

 Ein Preis, drei Sparten: 

  • Soloinstrument

  • Kammermusikensemble

  • Gesang

 Einzureichende Unterlagen: 

  • Ausgefüllter Bewerbungsbogen

  • Lebenslauf mit Foto

  • Hörprobe (mp3, ggf. Videoaufnahme mp4, oder DVD)

Unterlagen bitte per E-mail oder Post an:

 

schwarzweller@interlink-kultur.com 

 

Heide Schwarzweller
Heilwigstraße 93
20249 Hamburg

 
DIE INITIATORIN
HEIDE SCHWARZWELLER

Heide Schwarzweller über 5 Jahre FMFP:

„Als ich den Fanny Mendelssohn Förderpreis 2014 ins Leben rief, hätte ich im Traum nicht daran gedacht, dass er sich bereits nach kürzester Zeit etablieren würde. Die durchweg positive Resonanz aus den unterschiedlichsten kulturellen Bereichen ist bis heute schlichtweg überwältigend.

Entscheidend mitverantwortlich für diese Erfolgsstory ist sicherlich, dass der FMFP von Anfang an eine vollkommen eigenständige Positionierung hatte, die es aufstrebenden Künstlern/Künstlerinnen ermöglicht, ihr Können in einem anderen Licht zu präsentieren.

Denn hier wird nicht nur spielerische Virtuosität honoriert, sondern vor allem auch das vom Teilnehmer/von der Teilnehmerin zuvor entwickelte inhaltliche Konzept, also der selbstgesteckte kreative Rahmen. Das führt automatisch zu einer künstlerisch-intellektuellen Auseinandersetzung mit Musik. Und somit zu vollkommen neuen und revolutionären Darbietungen.

Besonders glücklich macht mich, dass unser ursprüngliches Motto „Vom Wegbereiter zum Wegbegleiter“ nun schon mehrfach Früchte getragen hat.

Für unseren erster Preisträger, Tamás Pálfalvi, war der Fanny Mendelssohn Förderpreis der Startschuss zu einer Weltkarriere, die ihn bereits in alle großen Konzerthäuser, z.B. in die Carnegie Hall, führte. Erst vor kurzem wurde er in Budapest an der Franz-Liszt-Akademie zum jüngsten Professor Ungarns ernannt. Gleichzeitig drückt seine über Jahre anhaltende Treue zum FMFP aus, was den Preis so besonders macht: Verbundenheit.

Ich bin unendlich dankbar, dass ich mit dem Preis den Grundstein dafür legen konnte, auch künftigen TeilnehmernTeilnehmerinnen und Preisträgern/Preisträgerinnen ihre ganz persönlichen und individuellen musikalischen Karrierewege zu ermöglichen.

Das Leben als Künstler/Künstlerin war noch nie leicht. Reich an Entbehrungen und bescheiden an finanziellen Mitteln. Kulturelle Förderung weicht immer häufiger wirtschaftlichen Erwägungen. 80% der Hochschulabsolventen und -absolventinnen finden keine Orchesterstelle und müssen auf verwandte Positionen ausweichen, z.B. eine Lehrtätigkeit...

Umso wichtiger ist es, aufstrebenden Künstlern/Künstlerinnen eine Bühne zu bieten, auf der sie ihr besonderes Talent einer hochkarätigen Jury und der breiten Öffentlichkeit präsentieren können.

Der FMFP ist ein Zeichen gegen den kulturellen Klimawandel und für das Streben nach neuen, künstlerisch-kreativen Innovationen.“

FMF_Logo_RGB_neg.png
FMV_schriftzug_RGB_neg.png
  • Fanny Förderpreis Instagram
  • fanny Förderpreis Facebook
  • Fanny Förderpreis Youtube

© 2019 Fanny Mendelssohn Förderpreis