OUR PRIZE WINNERS
 
2020
Joséphine Olech

 

The jury of the Fanny Mendelssohn Förderpreis unanimously selected the French flutist, Joséphine Olech. She impressed not only with her innovative concept but also with her virtuoso play and her natural personality. With “Reconnect Nature and the Modern Man” she gets to the bottom of the complex relationship between humans and nature. This is examined from three perspectives:
contemplation – communion – appropriation. 
Finally, the question is asked whether people will be able to find "back to nature".
"The flute is an ancient symbol for the sounds of nature and is therefore the perfect instrument to reflect on this topic," says Joséphine Olech.
Joséphine has been the first flutist of the Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra since 2017. She studied at the Conservatoire de Paris (CNSMDP) with Sophie Cherrier and Vincent Lucas and at the Royal Concertgebouw Academy in Amsterdam. She won several awards at international competitions, including she won the Carl Nielsen International Competition.

 For more informations 

Website:
www.josephineolech.com

Contact:
Nordic Artists Management
Bredgade 45C, 3. DK-1260 Copenhagen
 
Filomentina Høgsholm
T +45 44 49 29 00
fih@nordicartistsmanagement.com

 
2019
Michael Buchanan

 

In the final round in the Composers Quarter in Hamburg, the seven-member jury of the Fanny Mendelssohn Förderpreis unanimously selected the 23 year old trombonist Michael Buchanan from England as winner. He won over the jury, with a highly original program concept in which he showcased the intricate significance of his instrument and the diverse traditional demands put on it. Here, his profound musicianship and the brilliant technical and interpretive mastery of his instrument were on display. "The Many Faces of God" was the title of his composition of works, which will be the basis of the winning prize debut album. This album will be released under the Hamburg label ES-DUR. Michael Buchanan was born in London in 1993. He studied at the University of Cambridge and at the Hochschule der Künste in Bern. He has already played at numerous concerts with leading orchestras and ensembles, e.g., the Deutschen Symphonie-Orchester Berlin and the SWR Radio Symphonieorchester.

 For more informations 

Website:

www.michaelbuchanan.co.uk

Contact:
michaelbuchanan11@hotmail.co.uk
T +44 7775612390

 
2018
Christoph Heesch

 

The seven experts on the Fanny Mendelssohn Förderpreis jury, under the leadership of the music critic Jürgen Kesting, selected Cellist Christoph Heesch in the final round in Hamburg. He not only convinced the jury with his intense and multi-faceted performance, but also through an innovative recording concept for his debut CD. Four works for cello and a chamber orchestra were created by four different composers between1924 and 1925: Ernst Toch, Paul Hindemith, Jacques Ibert and Bohuslav Martinû. The four works share one thing in common, they all call for a greatly reduced orchestra (maximum 12 musicians) a "concentrate of instrumental music." For Christoph Heesch the question arises about the concept of the word "concert" in the period of the "Golden Twenties." It is my intention to consider this question with regard to the works of four fantastic composers from totally different cultural backgrounds, schools and various influences. "This allows us to draw inspiration and ideas for our future from the innovations of our predecessors," is how Heesch described his idea. Born in Berlin in 1995, Christoph Heesch is currently studying at the Universität der Künste Berlin under Prof. Wolfgang Emanuel Schmidt, after having been a student of Jens Peter Maintz. He has already received a number of awards at international competitions, was a semifinalist at the Queen Elisabeth Competition in 2017, and received a special award for music mediation at the TONALi Competition. The album "The Golden Age: Cello 1925" was realized by GENUIN and released on September 7, 2018.

 For more informations 

Website:

www.christoph-heesch.com

Contact:
T +49 1743339386

info@christoph-heesch.com

 
2017
Matthias Well

 

The third Fanny Mendelssohn Förderpreis was presented on January 1, 2017. The violinist Matthias Well, born in Upper Bavaria in 1993, was not only selected by the seven-member jury for his exceptionally sensitive playing but as well for his authentic recording approach. In this way, he was able to prevail against the four other finalists in the competition. Matthias Well devotes himself to music stemming from family tradition, played at memorial services and funerals in his early childhood. He took the panel of judges by surprise, showing, among other things, that such music can also be cheerful in honoring the deceased while still offering comfort and solace to the bereaved. In search of the almost entirely forgotten guild of the so-called "Funerary Violinists," Matthias Well encountered funeral music from many different cultures around the world. Much of which he has in the meantime rewritten for violin and accordion. Matthias Well is currently studying at the University of Music and Performing Arts in Munich and was recommended by the renowned professor of violin, Julia Fischer, who is also his mentor and supporting his application for the Fanny Mendelssohn Förderpreis.

 For more informations 
 
2016
Vera Karner & Dominik Wagner

 

Building bridges with popular songs. This concept by Vera Karner and Dominik Wagner convinced the high-ranking jury of the Fanny Mendelssohn Sponsorship Award that picked its laureate for the second time on January 30, 2016 on the premises of Edel Records in Hamburg. The award ceremony took place during the Festspiele Mecklenburg-Vorpommern at Gutshof Groß Siemen on July 7, 2016. Vera Karner and Dominik Wagner: "“Gassenhauer” serves as a basic musical theme for works that make intercultural communication audible. You can find them everywhere, hits and catchy tunes just like in the “Gassenhauer-Trio” by Beethoven, which gave our concept its name – in Europe but also in Syria, Afghanistan or the Ukraine.” Vera and Dominik set out on a search for composers willing to compose a work which combines a piece from the time of the First Viennese School with a catchy tune – a “Gassenhauer” – from their home country. Thirty composers declared themselves willing to participate in the project. They started to implement their musical idea with three of them. As their mentor, Matthias Schorn supported them in their endeavor.

 For more informations 
 
2015
Tamás Pávalfi 

 

Tamás Pávalfi was the winner of the first Fanny Mendelssohn Förderpreis. This Hungarian trumpeter, who has already received multiple awards, impressed the jury with an enormous virtuosity, his stage presence and an unusual musical concept which can be heard on his debut CD "AGITATO” – works from the baroque era as well as modernist ones by Vivaldi, Telemann, Händel, Ligeti, Kagel and Dubrovay, among others. Pávalfi wants to push the limits not only in terms of the repertoire of the trumpet but also in terms of its playing technique. He accomplishes this by transcribing historical repertoire and championing new composers that he interprets with breathtaking technical skill on “AGITATO”. During the recording of his CD in Budapest he was accompanied by an orchestra rich in tradition, the Franz Liszt Chamber Orchestra. “The award has inspired me to live my musical fantasies,” the young Hungarian says about the Fanny Mendelssohn Förderpreis that was presented to him in September 2015 during the Festspiele Mecklenburg-Vorpommern.

 For more informations 

Website:

www.tamaspalfalvi.com

Contact:

General Management
Dorn Music GmbH & Co. KG
Scheidestraße 9
30625 Hannover
Germany

FMF_Logo_RGB_neg.png
FMV_schriftzug_RGB_neg.png
  • Fanny Förderpreis Instagram
  • fanny Förderpreis Facebook
  • Fanny Förderpreis Youtube

© 2019 Fanny Mendelssohn Förderpreis

FMF_Logo_RGB_neg.png
FMV_schriftzug_RGB_neg.png
  • Fanny Förderpreis Instagram
  • fanny Förderpreis Facebook
  • Fanny Förderpreis Youtube

© 2019 Fanny Mendelssohn Förderpreis

UNSERE PREISTRÄGER UND PREISTRÄGERINNEN
2019
Michael Buchanan

 

Die siebenköpfige Fachjury des Fanny Mendelssohn Förderpreises einigte sich bei der Finalrunde im Hamburger KomponistenQuartier auf den 23-jährigen Posaunisten Michael Buchanan aus England. Er überzeugte mit einem hochoriginellen programmatischen Konzept, in dem er der komplexen Bedeutung und den historisch vielfältigen Ansprüchen seines Instruments Rechnung trug. Er bewies dabei eine überragende spieltechnische und interpretatorische Kompetenz im Umgang mit seinem Instrument und eine tiefgründige Kennerschaft. „The Many Faces Of God“ war der Titel seiner Werkzusammenstellung, die in Verbindung mit dem Preisgewinn dem Debüt-Album zugrunde liegen wird. Veröffentlicht wird dieses Album auf dem Hamburger Label ES-DUR. Michael Buchanan wurde 1993 in London geboren und studierte an der University of Cambridge und an der Hochschule der Künste in Bern. Er spielte bereits zahlreiche Konzerte mit bedeutenden Orchestern und Ensembles, so beispielsweise mit dem Deutschen Symphonie-Orchester Berlin oder dem SWR-Symphonieorchester.

 
 Infos 

Website:

www.michaelbuchanan.co.uk

Kontakt:
michaelbuchanan11@hotmail.co.uk
T +44 7775612390

 
2018
Christoph Heesch

 

Die siebenköpfige Fachjury des Fanny Mendelssohn Förderpreises unter der Leitung des Musikkritikers Jürgen Kesting, einigte sich bei der Finalrunde in Hamburg auf den jungen Cellisten Christoph Heesch. Er überzeugte nicht nur durch sein intensives und facettenreiches Spiel, sondern auch durch ein innovatives Aufnahme-Konzept für seine Debüt-CD. In den Jahren 1924 und 1925 entstanden vier Werke für Cello und kleines Orchester von vier verschiedenen Komponisten: Ernst Toch, Paul Hindemith, Jacques Ibert und Bohuslav Martinû. Die vier Werke haben die Gemeinsamkeit, dass sie sich mit stark reduziertem Orchester (maximal 12 Musiker) auf ein „Konzentrat der Instrumentalmusik“ festlegen. Für Christoph Heesch stellt sich die Frage nach der Öffnung des Begriffes „Konzert“ zu jener Zeit der „goldenen Zwanziger“. „Es ist mir ein Anliegen, diese Fragen mit Blick auf die Werke vier fantastischer Komponisten aus vollkommen unterschiedlichen Kulturkreisen, Schulen und Einflüssen zu betrachten. So können wir aus der Innovation unserer Vorgänger Inspiration und Ideen für unsere Zukunft schöpfen“, beschreibt Heesch seine Idee. Der 1995 in Berlin geborene Christoph Heesch studiert derzeit an der Universität der Künste Berlin bei Prof. Wolfgang Emanuel Schmidt, nachdem er lange Jahre Schüler von Jens Peter Maintz war. Er wurde schon mehrfach bei internationalen Wettbewerben ausgezeichnet, war Semifinalist des Königin-Elisabeth-Wettbewerbes 2017 und erhielt einen Sonderpreis des TONALi-Wettbewerbes für die beste Musikvermittlung. Das Album „The Golden Age: Cello 1925“ wurde bei GENUIN realisiert und am 7. September 2018 veröffentlicht.

 Infos 

Website:

www.christoph-heesch.com

Kontakt:
T +49 1743339386

info@christoph-heesch.com

 
2017
Matthias Well

 

Der dritte Fanny Mendelssohn Förderpreis wurde am 28.01.2017 vergeben. Gewonnen hat ihn der 1993 in Oberbayern geborene Geiger Matthias Well, der die siebenköpfige Fachjury nicht nur durch sein außergewöhnlich einfühlsames Spiel, sondern auch durch sein durchdachtes und gleichzeitig authentisches Aufnahmekonzept überzeugte. Somit setzte er sich gegen die anderen vier Finalisten des Wettbewerbes durch. Matthias Well beschäftigt sich aus alter Familientradition und schon seit früher Kindheit mit Musik, die anlässlich von Trauerfeiern und Beerdigungen gespielt wird. Dabei überraschte er die Jury u.a. damit, dass es sich durchaus auch um fröhliche Musik handeln kann, die den Verstorbenen ehren und Trauernden Mut und Trost spenden soll. Auf der Suche nach der heute fast völlig vergessenen Zunft der sogenannten „Trauergeiger“ stieß Matthias Well auf Trauermusik aus allen Teilen der Welt und aus den verschiedensten Kulturen. Vieles davon hat er inzwischen für Geige und Akkordeon umschreiben lassen. Matthias Well studiert zurzeit an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater in München und wurde von der renommierten Geigerin Prof. Julia Fischer vorgeschlagen, die auch als Patin für seine Bewerbung beim Fanny Mendelssohn Förderpreis an seiner Seite steht.

 Infos 
 
2016
Vera Karner & Dominik Wagner

 

Aus Gassenhauern, Gassenbauer machen – das Konzept von Vera Karner und Dominik Wagner überzeugte die hochkarätige Jury des Fanny Mendelssohn Förderpreises, der am 30.01.2016 im Hause Edel in Hamburg zum zweiten Mal vergeben wurde. Die Preisverleihung selbst fand im Rahmen der Festspiele Mecklenburg-Vorpommern am 21.07.2016 auf Gutshof Groß Siemen statt. Vera Karner und Dominik Wagner: „‚Gassenhauer‘ dient als musikalisches Grundmotiv für Werke, die interkulturelle Kommunikation hörbar machen. Es gibt sie überall, die Gassenhauer, die Ohrwürmer, wie beim ‚Gassenhauer-Trio‘ von Beethoven, das unserem Konzept den Namen gegeben hat – in Europa, aber auch in Syrien, Afghanistan oder der Ukraine.“ Vera und Dominik haben sich auf die Suche nach Komponisten gemacht, die bereit sind, ein Werk zu komponieren, das ein Stück aus der Wiener Klassik mit einem „Gassenhauer“ aus ihrer Heimat kombiniert. 30 Komponisten haben sich gemeldet, die sich für das Projekt zur Verfügung gestellt hatten. Mit zunächst drei Komponisten wurde die musikalische Idee umgesetzt. Als Pate stand ihnen Matthias Schorn zur Seite.

 
2015
Tamás Pávalfi 

 

Tamás Pálfalvi war der Gewinner des ersten Fanny Mendelssohn Förderpreises. Der bereits mehrfach ausgezeichnete ungarische Trompeter Tamás Pálfalvi beeindruckte die Jury mit enormer Virtuosität, Bühnenpräsenz und einem außergewöhnlichen, musikalischen Konzept, das auf seinem Debüt-Album „AGITATO“ erschienen ist: Werke aus der Zeit des Barock und der Moderne von u.a. Vivaldi, Telemann, Händel, Ligeti, Kagel oder Dubrovay. Pálfalvi möchte sowohl das Repertoire als auch die Spieltechnik der Trompete erweitern. Dieses Ziel verfolgt er etwa durch Transkriptionen von historischem Repertoire und den Einsatz für neue Komponisten, die er auf „AGITATO“ mit atemberaubender Spieltechnik interpretiert. Begleitet wurde er bei der Aufnahme in Budapest von dem traditionsreichen Franz Liszt Kammerorchester. „Der Preis hat mich inspiriert, meine musikalischen ‚Fantasien‘ auszuleben“, sagt der junge Ungar über den Fanny Mendelssohn Förderpreis, der ihm im September 2015 im Rahmen der Festspiele Mecklenburg-Vorpommern verliehen wurde.

 Infos 

Website:

www.tamaspalfalvi.com

Kontakt:

General Management
Dorn Music GmbH & Co. KG
Scheidestraße 9
30625 Hannover
Germany